A Lazy Saturday at the Winchester Mystery House

After a long week of going to bed around 10:30pm, waking up at 6:45am, and being at work for 10 hours at times, it is easy to look forward to those Saturdays of getting the chance to sleep in and enjoy a nice relaxing day off. Saturdays are my mom and me time. One February Saturday, my mom wanted to check out the museum display of World War I artifacts outside the renown San Jose historical landmark, the Winchester Mystery House. As for what it was, she wasn’t sure, but we decided to get out of the house and at least stop by to walk around since it is less than a 5-minute drive away.

Once we arrived, we realized that the museum display of World War I artifacts was nothing new, but has most likely been a part of the Winchester Mystery House since its origin as a well-known museum. It is remarkable to see the number of people willing to dish out $35 per person to take the Grand Estate Tour, a mansion and behind-the-scenes tour of this spooky 110-room mansion. My mom says that I have been inside on a few occasions, but my poor memory doesn’t remember any of it. After taking a look at the museum display of World War I artifacts, we took a stroll around the outside garden of the mansion. While the garden is nowhere as beautiful as The Jardin du Luxembourg in Paris, thankfully the areas we visited are free to the public and a good place to spend some mom and me time.

Enjoy my photos below of the outer décor of the Winchester Mystery House!

One thought on “A Lazy Saturday at the Winchester Mystery House

Leave a Reply

