Curiosity That Inspires Learning

The day before the last day of school, all the third grade classes went into the library to hear a NASA presentation given by a dad of one of our school’s second graders. It was during this presentation that I realized how many more questions my class had in one short period of time compared to the other classes. A handful of my students couldn’t hold on to their questions until the end of the presentation. They kept shooting up their hands to ask their inquisitive questions that were thankfully at least on topic with the presentation. I wished they could have held on to their questions until the end so that they wouldn’t have kept interrupting the presenter. However, I realized that their passionate curiosity for NASA and science could lead to something great in their lives later down the road. Surely I had a curious bunch of kids! Well, this comic that I found in the Sunday comics today is how I sometimes feel when my students ask me all sorts of questions. Often times I feel like I am learning when they are learning too, which is why learning is a never-ending process.

“We keep moving forward, opening up new doors and doing new things, because we’re curious… and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.” –Walt Disney

Leave a Reply

