Changing Education Paradigms

Yay, I get to start BTSA this year! Among education’s many acronyms, BTSA stands for Beginning Teacher Support and Assessment. It is a two-year induction program required for all new teachers in California in order to clear our credential. While I am not particularly enthused about the extra busy work and time that BTSA will take, I am thankful that I get to start the program this year. Last year, I didn’t get to start because there wasn’t enough funding in my district for all its newly hired teachers. Last night, I went to my first BTSA training (from 4-7pm after a long work day, which was grueling!) and found out that the district again has a waitlist for the program. So, I am trying to make the most out of this extra hurdle to clear my credential, as I look forward to growing in my profession with the new challenge that God has given me this year to teach Kindergarten!

Unrelated to BTSA, but on the topic of education, I highly recommend you to watch this video below about changing education paradigms. It’s long, but very nicely done. Enjoy!

 

Also, if you have the time, this is a great article – Why I Quit Teaching!

Leave a Reply

