My Students are 100 Days Smarter!

IMG_3709

Today was our 100th day of school! This school year is going by really quickly. Teaching 3rd grade at the beginning of this school year and then going through the sudden chaos of transferring schools and switching grade levels are now a blur. For the last two weeks, I have started feeling more comfortable and confident with teaching Kindergarten. Of course, there are very frustrating moments with my students, but as many of my colleagues have told me before, teaching Kindergarten is truly rewarding. It is the base on which all the rest of their schooling builds upon, and it is an honor to be involved in the lives of these precious little ones.

My students are really 100 days smarter! Many of them came into Kindergarten not knowing how to hold a pencil or write their name. Now they can recognize and write most of their letters, read up to 30 high frequency words, and blend short “a” and “i” words. They are on their way to writing short complete sentences without my help. They can write numbers to 20, rote count to 100, name all their shapes and colors, and measure length and weight. They are starting to solve addition problems too. Sometimes they surprise me with how much they have learned!

This is off-topic, but I want to share this story. One of my students has been out a lot recently. When he told me that it was because his mom went to court, I assumed it was something serious like divorce, child custody, or the like because that’s unfortunately often the case with many of my low-income families. He told me that his mom got a speeding ticket, and then he said, “I told her to slow down!” Isn’t that cute? A 5-year-old being so “mature” haha!

Anyway, here are some photos of our take-home project, which my students turned in with 10 groups of 10 things glued down on the 100 poster. Look at how creative they got with these!

IMG_3691 IMG_3695 IMG_3696 IMG_3689 IMG_3694 IMG_3698

One thought on “My Students are 100 Days Smarter!

  1. Pingback: Celebrating the 100th Day of School | kamelican

Leave a Reply

