The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom

Back in high school, I disliked reading. (See my earlier post, Developing a Love of Reading.) But for a group book project in my junior year, The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom was one of the first books that captured my attention. It was the fastest I had ever finished a book at that time. Seven years later, I have followed Mitch Albom’s books, reading Tuesdays with Morrie, For One More Day, The Time Keeper, and I just started Have a Little Faith last night.

The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom

Since February Break is here, I started 40 pages of The Time Keeper on Friday night and finished the other 200 pages in 2 hours on Saturday. It was that good and an easy read! This novel explores time by following the man who created time, Dor who is Father Time. I am far from being a book critic, but I will share some quotes and thoughts to give you a glimpse of this book.

“Consider the word ‘time.’ We use so many phrases with it. Pass time. Waste time. Kill time. Lose time. In good time. About time. Take your time. Save time. A long time. Right on time. Out of time. Mind the time. Be on time. Spare time. Keep time. Stall for time. There are as many expressions with ‘time’ as there are minutes in a day. But once, there was no word for it at all. Because no one was counting. Then Dor began. And everything changed.”

This book is engaging and provokes you to think about your own understanding of time.

“Try to imagine a life without timekeeping. You probably can’t. You know the month, the year, the day of the week. There is a clock on your wall or the dashboard of your car. You have a schedule, a calendar, a time for dinner or a movie. Yet all around you, timekeeping is ignored. Birds are not late. A dog does not check its watch. Deer do not fret over passing birthdays. Man alone measures time. Man alone chimes the hour. And, because of this, man alone suffers a paralyzing fear that no other creature endures. A fear of time running out.”

When I consider the word “time,” I think of 2 memories in particular:

1. MORE TIME: During my freshman year of college, my dad was diagnosed with liver cancer. For the 3 years of my undergraduate study, he continued to battle cancer as it had spread to his spine, pelvis, and neck. My dad was able to attend my graduation for my bachelor’s degree, and then he passed away peacefully 4 months later. I thank God for the 3 extra years that He granted my family to spend with my dad after he was initially diagnosed with cancer.

IMG_3232

2. LESS TIME: Knowing that I wanted to become a teacher since a young age, I sped through both undergraduate and graduate degrees in 4 years. Then I was provided a job 3 weeks after finishing my graduate program. I thank God for helping me through 4 years of higher education and placing me right where I should be right now.

Who knows where I will be years down the line, but I am excited for life’s journey until I meet God in heaven and reunite with my dad one day.

“There is a reason God limits our days… to make each one precious.”

I highly recommend you to take the time to read this book!

One thought on “The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom

  1. Ohh I didn’t know that Mitch Albom wrote all these books! I’ve read 2 of his books: Tuesdays with Morrie and The Five People You Meet in Heaven, and thoroughly enjoyed both of them, as they were gently thought-provoking and led to plenty of “ohh yeah, that’s true” moments. I like his writing style. Thanks for the recommendations; I’ll try to check out more of his books, especially the one about time. :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

