Showered with Love on Valentine’s Day

As a teacher, Valentine’s Day is showered with love from students. When I opened my door in the morning, I was overwhelmed with students bringing in food and drinks for our celebration, valentines for their classmates, and gifts and cards for me. Though my students come from low-income families, some give simple sweet cards, artificial flowers, or chocolate. Their appreciation is heartwarming.

The week leading up to Valentine’s Day, my students decorated our classroom with hearts. They also decorated paper bags to hold all their valentine cards and treats. For some, it was their first school experience of Valentine’s Day, so it was exciting to be a part of that!

Valentine Hearts with color pencils

IMG_3771

My brother Lawrence surprised my mom and me for Valentine’s Day by sending home fresh irises and tulips AND chocolate-covered strawberries, which were yummms! Thank you, 哥哥!

20130216_214603 IMG_3754

On my way to work the week before Valentine’s Day, I heard this song on KLOVE. The Valentine’s Day version includes Bible verses from the poem, “Father’s Love Letter.” I was touched in my car to hear these verses again and be reminded that Christ’s death on the cross was the ultimate expression of God’s love for me. Take a listen!

“This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him. This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.” –1 John 4:9-10

One thought on “Showered with Love on Valentine’s Day

Leave a Reply

