2013 Resolutions: February Progress Check

Wootsss, I accomplished one New Year’s resolution already!! Here’s my progress with my 3 resolutions at the beginning of March:

1. Complete 60 days of Insanity and run 5 miles.

ALL DONE!!! I finished both parts of this resolution last week! On Sunday, I completed my 60 days of Insanity! Then, I started running outside again, beginning with 3 miles on Monday and then 3.6 miles on Tuesday. I got off work late on Wednesday and Thursday, so I did Insanity. On Friday, I got runner’s high and beat my New Year’s resolution by running 5.5 miles! I had planned on running 3 miles that day and saving a long run for Saturday, but I got a random burst of energy and felt little pain. I almost pushed myself to 6 miles, but it was getting dark. It is crazy how strong my mental endurance is after Insanity, and I didn’t wake up sore at all the next day! My new workout schedule is to have some form of exercise, running or Insanity, 6 days a week and rest on Sundays. Last week, I started off with 15 miles, so I’m going to increase mileage every week. Time to set up a new running goal! 

2. Read from Genesis to Revelation. 

I finished reading Leviticus and Numbers in February. I’m in the middle of Deuteronomy now, which was one of my favorite Old Testament books the last time I tried reading the Bible from cover to cover. Moses’s repetitive reminders to the Israelites to keep God’s commands have encouraged me to continue reading the Word first thing in the morning.

“Man does not live on bread alone but on every word that comes from the mouth of the LORD.” –Deuteronomy 8:3

“It is the LORD your God you must follow, and him you must revere. Keep his commands and obey him; serve him and hold fast to him.” –Deuteronomy 13:4

3. Read 24 books. 

I read another 3 books, making the total at 5 this year. I highly recommend The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom and Every Good Endeavor: Connecting Your Work to God’s Work by Timothy Keller. I’m starting Life of Pi by Yann Martel so I can finish the book before watching the movie. By the way, The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky, which I read at the end of last year, was a great book and a good movie too.

One thought on “2013 Resolutions: February Progress Check

Leave a Reply

