“My name is Laurel and I like to run.”

I’m finally redeeming my so-called title from graduate school. On the first day, my classmates and I had to go around and share our name and one thing about ourselves. Given that studying had taken over a large part of my life in college, I didn’t keep up with many hobbies, so I defaulted to share what I liked in high school. To this day, my teacher friends remember how I introduced myself, and they have used this to encourage me to get back into running! Thank you, ladies!

My name is Laurel and I like to run

So today, I made a new record and ran 6.2 miles in 55:38!! I didn’t think I could do it because I was ready to give up around 2.5 miles, but I feel like this keeps happening to me. Somehow I make it to 4 miles which was my goal, and then I get to 5 miles. By then, I don’t feel ready to stop, so I end up pushing myself until it gets too dark. I don’t think I have ever paid so much attention to Daylight Saving Time, but I can’t wait for it to start tomorrow! It has been hard to leave work early and fit in a run before it gets dark, so I am thankful to be getting the extra hour of brightness. I’m really starting to like running again :)

2 thoughts on ““My name is Laurel and I like to run.”

  1. Yayyyy Laurel! Reading your posts and seeing your progress these past few months has made me so happy!! :) And dang, you are way faster than me. I see a half marathon coming in your near future. :D

    I totally feel you about daylight savings. I’ve never looked forward to losing an hour, but now with an 8-5 schedule, I will cherish that extra hour of sunlight!

    Like

Leave a Reply

