The Calm After the Storm

Counting down the final 8 days left in my second year of teaching until summer break begins!!

My first year of teaching was very tough. Even though I had sped through college and graduate school knowing that I wanted to be a teacher when I grew up, I had my doubts about teaching last year. The majority of my class was disrespectful and unmotivated to learn, and I had a hard time every morning, just thinking about facing the long day ahead with my students. I was running on a treadmill to get through the school year, too excited when every break arrived and sad when every weekend ended because that meant returning back to my grueling work the next day.

Although I had to suddenly transfer schools and switch grade levels to Kindergarten four weeks after the start of the school year last fall, my second year has been better! I have really enjoyed teaching my class, but I am anxious to find out whether my students this year are a normal class or an exceptionally sweet group of kids. I like going to work and seeing their eagerness to learn. They started school not knowing how to hold a pencil and now they can spell words phonetically and recognize numbers in the 100s, which is beyond our grade level standards. Often times I am surprised by the academic and social progress they have made this year. Teaching Kindergarten is so rewarding because I get to see their amazing accomplishments in one year!

I am so thankful and thrilled to find out that I will be staying in Kindergarten at the same school next year!! Praise the Lord! Hopefully nothing changes between now and this fall…

Last year, I went through ups and downs when I found out in mid-May that I was leaving my school, then 3 weeks later that I wasn’t leaving, and after the new school year started that I was really leaving (read about it here: A Roller Coaster Ride). The back and forth-ness tested my faith and reminded me that God is sovereign and good, even when He had to take me through the storm to learn to trust in Him wholeheartedly. Year after year, it has been by God’s grace that I still have a job after going through those trials. This year, I am feeling the calm after the storm, and I am thankful to see how smoothly things are going compared to last year. Next year will be my first time to not have to move classrooms and to get to teach the same grade two years in a row, so I’m really excited to grow from what I have learned this year!

“He who did not spare His own Son, but gave him up for us all – how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things?” –Romans 8:32

Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord unto me!

2 thoughts on “The Calm After the Storm

  1. Pingback: Staying in Kindergarten in the Same Classroom | kamelican

Leave a Reply

