2013 Year in Review

I can’t believe 2013 is over! This was a great, eventful year filled with many blessings and amazing experiences, thanks to God! Here is my year in review…

Thanksgivings: I have much to be thankful for, but these are at the top of my list this year.

1. Pillar family – small group, prayer meeting, book club, nursery, weddings

2013_pillar

2. Good quality time with relatives who visited us and whom I visited on my trips

2013_relatives

3. Travels and good eats in San Diego, New York, Chicago, Milwaukee, and Toronto, Canada

2013_travels

4. Stayed in Kindergarten in the same classroom, became permanent, and got a pay raise

kinderclassroom360

5. Finished Insanity and got back into my high school hobby of long distance running

Insanity Progress

6. Reunited with high school friends, some I haven’t seen since our graduation 7 years ago

2013_shsreunions

7. A lot of firsts in sports and entertainment! First NBA basketball game – Warriors vs. Rockets, first CA team baseball game – SD Padres vs. LA Dodgers, first celebrity meet and greet – Far East Movement, first NY Broadway musical show – Wicked.

2013_sports&entertainment

8. Many adventures to SF with friends and family

2013_sfadventures

Resolutions: I started off this year strong, but then fell short with 2 out of the 3 resolutions. Thankfully, these are resolutions that I want to continue on to next year, so I can keep trying!

Resolution #1: YAY! Completed 60 days of Insanity on February 24 and ran 5 miles on March 1. Record of the year was running 8 miles on April 6 in 1:06:30. Exercise went downhill from there.

Resolution #2: Still trekking through the Bible from cover to cover and finished Proverbs today.

Resolution #3: Goal was to read 24 books this year, but I read only 7 books. Challenge is still on!

  1. I Kissed Dating Goodbye by Joshua Harris (1/21/2013)
  2. Boy Meets Girl by Joshua Harris (1/26/2013)
  3. The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom (2/16/2013)
  4. Have a Little Faith: A True Story by Mitch Albom (2/20/2013)
  5. Every Good Endeavor: Connecting Your Work to God’s Work by Timothy Keller (3/2/2013)
  6. The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick (9/19/2013)
  7. Rework by Jason Fried and David Heinemeier Hansson (11/19/2013)

Goodbye 2013, this was a great year! I’m excited for what 2014 will bring!

Happy New Year and cheers to 2014!!!

4 thoughts on “2013 Year in Review

  1. My resolution is also to read more. My goal is 6 books that are non-school related. The list you shared helps me out already. It is a blessing to know you Laurel! Sending big big hugs!

    Like

  2. Pingback: My Many 2014 Resolutions | kamelican

  3. Pingback: 2014 Year in Review | kamelican

  4. Pingback: Thank You to My Readers and Followers | kamelican

Leave a Reply

