The Start of Cooking More

I wanted to start the year off right with a home-cooked meal for my mom and close family friends! This year, I want to cook more, one of my many 2014 resolutions (write more by blog or journal is another one). Since moving back home, I have been enjoying my mom’s home-cooked meals for lunch and dinner. That means I have definitely gotten rustier using the knives, oven, and stove since I lived independently in college. That’s something I want to work on this year, so I would like to learn some new dishes from my mom and aunties who are eager to teach me and get me in the kitchen more often. I want to build a repertoire of appetizers, entrees, and desserts, so that I can serve my friends and family with full course meals like tonight’s dinner for my mom and the Cheng family! I’m thankful for their good company over dinner (and a round of Nertz!) and completing my simple pasta dinner with homemade baked brie and steamed mussels…fancy!

My invitation and Serena’s RSVP hahaha20140101_serenatexts

Salad: Spinach, romaine lettuce, carrots, mushrooms, grape tomatoes, walnuts, cranberries20140101_salad

The Cheng’s brought over baked brie, bread, and steamed mussels for appetizers!20140101_bakedbriebreadmussels

Pasta: Farfalle, onions, mushrooms, polish sausage, chicken apple sausage, tomato sauce20140101_pasta

Dessert: Salted brown butter rice krispy treats (recipe from Hannah)20140101_ricekrispytreats

My company for the night :)20140101_dinnerforchengs

Today, I am thankful for: relaxing morning in bed, lunch out with Mom, visiting Dad, bumping into Dad’s old client (see next post, Dad’s Old Client), even though Trader Joe’s was closed the grocery store next door was open on New Year’s Day and surprisingly cheap, good company over dinner, friendship with the Cheng family for 24+ years

3 thoughts on “The Start of Cooking More

  1. Pingback: My Many 2014 Resolutions | kamelican

  2. Pingback: Chinese Barbecued Pork Fried Rice 叉燒炒飯 | kamelican

  3. Pingback: Doing Grown Up Things | kamelican

Leave a Reply

