Early Mother’s Day Dinner at Cin-Cin

I have to say, nothing beats last year’s Mother’s Day in the city with my best friend Serena and our moms! We planned the trip last minute, but found free parking all day, ate at the places we wanted to eat without running into long lines (See qoomui’s post, sf date for mama’s day), and randomly encountered Far East Movement @ Macy’s in Union Square (See the link for photos). All that makes it pretty hard to top off last year and the home-cooked meal with my 3 best friends and our families the year before that (See A Special Day for Some Special Mothers).

Oh well, fast forward to this year, I again didn’t plan very well for Mother’s Day in advance. Serena and I had hoped to have another day out with our moms, but that didn’t work out because my mom couldn’t do lunch and her mom couldn’t do dinner. On Thursday night, only 2 days prior, I scrambled on Yelp to score last minute reservations to any new, nice restaurant (something different than the ordinary was all my mom wanted). I managed to make a reservation through OpenTable for 5:30 PM at Cin-Cin Restaurant and Wine Bar. Even if we don’t drink wine, I was thankful to have reserved a table at a new restaurant we hadn’t tried yet!

It was definitely no disappointment, and I was very satisfied with our experience at Cin-Cin!

Decor: The restaurant looks small from the outside, but inside there are 3 open sections for the bar and sit-down tables. It is decorated nicely with art paintings on the walls and has a classy ambience even though you can wear anything from casual to formal. The tables are set up nicely so that it works well for both intimate and group settings.

20140510_cincin1

Service: Upon arriving, we were seated immediately. I was thankful my OpenTable reservation went through smoothly. Our server checked on us frequently, and he was very patient even though we ordered our food in multiple rounds. The busboy instinctively refilled our water jug as soon as it was low and promptly took away our empty dishes. The service was great!

Food: After making the reservation, I was excited to find out there was happy hour until 6 PM, which gave us 30 minutes after being seated. Their menu has appetizers, salad, large plates, and small plates, but happy hour is a great selection of the small plates at cheaper and/or smaller portions. Our server recommended some dishes off the happy hour menu, so we tried 5 of them! Each dish was plated nicely and delicious! After eating 4, we were so full!

Charcuterie Plate ($9): So much cured meat! plus an added bonus of their other little appetizers including the deviled egg and sherry chicken liver crostini, which was the only thing I did not like.20140510_cincin2

Truffled French Fries ($4.50): Sooo yummy, just like the reviews said! Grated cheese is supposed to be sprinkled on top, but we asked for it on the side because my mom can’t have it.20140510_cincin3

Soba Noodle Salad ($7): Good, but I don’t usually order Asian food in American restaurants.20140510_cincin4

Fish Tacos ($7): Guacamole in the taco made it yummy!20140510_cincin5

Steamed Pork Buns ($7): Pork belly was so good, but of course, felt fattening.20140510_cincin6

I had prepared for a more expensive meal since Yelp said it was $$$, but it was surprising how much we got to try for such an affordable price during happy hour. I definitely recommend checking out Cin-Cin, especially for happy hour, which is 4-6 PM on Monday through Saturdays!

Cin-Cin Restaurant and Wine Bar: 368 Village Lane, Los GatosCA 95030. (408) 354-8006.

www.yelp.com/biz/cin-cin-restaurant-and-wine-bar-los-gatos-2

I’m glad my mom enjoyed our dinner date as much as I did… Happy Mother’s Day, Mom!!!

One thought on “Early Mother’s Day Dinner at Cin-Cin

  1. Hi there! Really enjoyed this blog post and was hoping to ask you a couple of questions via email. Could you please send me a note at the email address I’ve provided? Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

