2014 Year in Review

Happy New Year, everyone!!!

It’s 2015 already! I was reminded while watching the news that it has been 15 years since the millennium, which is just crazy! 2000 didn’t feel that long ago. Now 2014 is gone too! I think 2014 was fast and lazy for me… I look back and realize I didn’t do so well with my many 2014 resolutions. I played A LOT, and I definitely enjoyed all the fun! I’m looking forward to a new year and the fresh new start with hopes for more discipline in many areas, better health, and more time and effort into my relationships. But before I set my new year’s resolutions, I want to reflect on my many blessings throughout 2014 and thank God for bringing me through another year! (See last year’s post, 2013 Year in Review.)

1. Family2014yearinreview_familyIn 2014, I am most thankful for the quality time with my family! Usually I see my brother when he comes home for a weekend, but this year, we saw him a week at a time. My mom and I visited him in San Diego for a week in February. He joined us in Seattle with his girlfriend for a week in June. We met up in Chicago for my best friend’s wedding and stayed a week there in October. He was home several weekends to attend weddings up here, and also a week for Thanksgiving and Christmas. So all in all, we got to spend a lot more time together as a family of three!

2. Teaching Kindergarten2014yearinreview_teachingkinderI finished my 3rd year of teaching in June, and I am currently in the middle of my 4th year, but work has had its ups and downs. Last school year, I was thankful to have an exceptionally great class with students that were eager to learn and academically above average. Also, the parents were supportive and actually involved as volunteers in the classroom, which is rare for a low-income community where parents are working multiple jobs to support their families. This year, I have the other extreme with a class that is a handful of academic and behavioral problems. Despite the challenges, I am thankful for the breaks that teachers get throughout the year!

3. Travels2014yearinreview_travelsDuring those breaks, I am thankful for my travel adventures to Seattle/Vancouver in June and Chicago in October. I always enjoy exploring new eats and sights, especially with family!

4. Ministry opportunities2014yearinreview_pillarladiesAnother thing I am thankful for in 2014 is the opportunities to serve at church and grow with sisters in my small group and women’s group. I have been blessed by our times of accountability and fellowship, and I am thankful for the friendships, old and new. Through these opportunities, I am thankful to have also gotten to know the leaders and their families better.

5. Church family2014yearinreview_pillarfamilyIn addition to the above, I am thankful for lots and lots of hangouts with my Pillar family, including a few play dates with the little ones!

6. Reunions with best friends2014yearinreview_bebesAlso, I am thankful that my best friend Nadia got married this year! My 3 best friends and I had multiple opportunities (her brother’s wedding and her bachelorette party, wedding, and Chinese reception) to reunite and catch up in person, which is rare now that one lives in Milwaukee and another lives in LA. Those times together were sweet!

There was much to be thankful for in 2014. Praise the good Lord! May the joy of the holiday season continue to fill your hearts and home throughout the year. Cheers to 2015!!!

One thought on “2014 Year in Review

  1. Pingback: Thank You to My Readers and Followers | kamelican

Leave a Reply

