South Bay Eats: Viva Taqueria & Mission City Creamery

Saturday was a long and busy day filled with fun, fellowship, and exploration with Pillar friends! After the hike, lunch, and soft serve ice cream in the morning/afternoon (see Hiking Las Trampas Devil’s Hole Loop) and 2 hours of rest in between, I had friends over to grab dinner and dessert nearby and hang out that night. It was fun to try 2 new places close to home with them, and I am excited to explore more South Bay eats! Hopefully the next time my brother visits home, I will have a list of good eats to take him to… just like he does for me in San Diego (see my SD Eats).

{ Dinner } Viva Taqueria: 444 North Winchester Blvd, Santa Clara, CA 95050.

www.yelp.com/biz/viva-taqueria-santa-clara

I passed by this place so many times and didn’t think to try it until some friends recommended it. When I looked it up on yelp and saw a photo of the carne asada fries, I knew I had to try it. Thankfully I had Anita to share it with me. All those fries had to be unhealthy (I felt it the next day!), but it was fatty goodness. They also have an unlimited chips and salsa bar.

ordered – Carne asada friesIMG_20150131_190811 IMG_20150131_190835 download_20150201_013013

{ Dessert } Mission City Creamery: 2905 Park Ave, Santa Clara, CA 95050.

www.yelp.com/biz/mission-city-creamery-santa-clara

Couldn’t resist trying homemade ice cream so close to home, even though I already had soft serve ice cream earlier in the day (such a fatty!), especially when they have honey lavender and other flavors like Bi-Rite Creamery in SF. We made it just before the busy crowds came and actually ran out of honey lavender around 8:30 p.m. The flavors I tried were so good!

ordered – child scoop of honey lavender and chai tea ($3.00)IMG_20150131_200523 IMG_20150131_200704

Now that I have learned to bookmark places on yelp, I have a whole list of South Bay eats to try! Do you have any recommendations??

Leave a Reply

