Volunteering to Move Schools

Work update!

Ahhh I just emailed HR with my decision to volunteer to move schools for next year! No turning back now! It’s the beginning of another exciting adventure in my teaching career… 4 years in!

Two weeks ago, I found out that my school is one of 4 low-income schools in the district losing extra funding to keep our class sizes small at 20 students. Next year, class sizes will increase to 30 students like the rest of the district, which means my school is cutting 8 teachers. Thank God I am permanent and there are enough vacancies in the district, so I am guaranteed a job next year… just elsewhere! Since I am one of the lowest in seniority at my school, my best option was to volunteer to move schools and get higher priority to choose from the vacancies. At least I will be at the bottom of the 1st batch to pick schools. I didn’t want to wait and see if I’m safe at my school, only to find out later that I am forced out with little options from the vacancies left. I think this is a blessing in disguise because I have been wanting to change schools for a while now, and this opportunity allows me to transfer without having to apply or interview.

All volunteers will meet at HR on Thursday to select schools by seniority. I have no clue what to expect for Thursday, so that is making me feel anxious. I don’t know the number of volunteers and their seniority dates relative to mine, number of openings at each vacant school, grade levels for the openings, or how much time I am given to make my choice before the next person in line. By Thursday, I should know which school I am moving to next year. I hope my placement doesn’t change from now until the start of next year, unless I choose to apply and interview to other openings later on. Whatever happens, at least I’m taking a risk and trying something new!

Please pray for clarity and peace through this process. I have been researching and ranking all 14 vacant schools, which is difficult but I’m trying to be ready for the selection process on Thursday.

Please pray that I will trust in God to help me through the hard transition that I’m anticipating for next year. These many changes will happen all at once – new school, most likely new grade level, and class size will triple from 11-14 students right now to 30 students. It is going to feel like I am starting all over again, but thank God I have been through this before in my first two years of teaching to have learned that God is always sovereign and good. Great is His faithfulness!

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” — 1 Peter 5:7

2 thoughts on “Volunteering to Move Schools

  1. Pingback: Moving Schools Next Year | kamelican

  2. Pingback: Teaching 1st Grade Next Year | kamelican

Leave a Reply

