Fish Maw Soup 花膠湯 “Fa Gau Tong”

This is probably the most Chinese thing I have ever made… more like stood by my mom’s side and learned how to make from her. I hear this fish maw soup 花膠湯 “fa gau tong” is a popular Cantonese soup that is good to nourish a “weak” body, so I am writing down this recipe for future use. Although, I only learned how to make it, but I don’t know how to buy the ingredients. My mom will have to teach me that another day. By the way, this is a recipe in my own words from my understanding of what my mom did as I wrote down and took pictures of the steps.

1. In a large pot, boil hot water.

IMG_20151128_140835

2. In a small pot, boil 2 chunks of frozen lean pork meat (about the size of a fist) in hot water. Cut the chunks into smaller pieces (about the size of a ping pong ball).

IMG_20151128_141417

3. Wash dried Chinese yam 淮山 “wai shan”, dried goji-berries 杞子 “gay tse”, 2 pieces of dried scallop 乾瑤柱  “gon yiu chu”, and red dates 红枣 “hong jo” in water. Break apart dried scallop.

* With this recipe, you can exchange red dates for dried longan 龍眼 “long yan”.

IMG_20151128_141011

4. Put 2 pieces of tangerine peels 果皮 “goh pay” into the large pot.

5. Pour out the hot water from the small pot and replace with cold water. Remove white foam sticking to the lean pork meat. Pour out the cold water.

IMG_20151128_142227

6. Add the lean pork meat and ingredients (except for dried goji-berries) into the large pot once the water is at a boil.

7. 1.5 hours later, add dried goji-berries and fish maw 花膠 “fa gau” into the large pot.

8. Cook the soup for another 1.5 hours.

9. After 3 hours of cooking time, add salt to taste.

IMG_20151128_183021

10. Enjoy!

IMG_20151128_185750

Leave a Reply

