Mission District and Lands End in SF

My full day out cruising down Highway 1 to Big Sur on Tuesday left me exhausted and really lazy at home on Wednesday, but then yesterday was another full day out – this time to San Francisco! Again, I couldn’t have asked for a more perfect day. I was just talking with friends last weekend about how I have never ridden on the BART for having been born and raised in the Bay Area, but I rather drive because so far at least, I have always found perfect parking, perfect weather, and perfect timing. Thank God! So with the Mission District and Lands End on my mind, my mom and I enjoyed another day out exploring SF. The weather was clear skies, no clouds, no fog, no wind. It was a beautiful day in the city! I took another attempt with my Canon Rebel T2i and this time the Canon Lens 18-55mm that came with the camera so I could capture wide angle views. These are unedited photos so I need to practice manually adjusting the lighting and focus. Some photos are taken with my Nexus 5x too, see if you can tell the difference. Enjoy these shots!

Arizmendi Bakery1268 Valencia St, San Francisco, CA 94110
https://www.yelp.com/biz/arizmendi-bakery-san-francisco-2

I was supposed to try this pizza on Labor Day, but unfortunately it was closed, so I came back to try it this time. I should have yelped it beforehand to know that it only makes one Pizza of the Day like Cheeseboard in Berkeley with no pizzas made-to-order. My mom can’t take certain cheeses like feta, so it was sad for her. She had to scrape off all the toppings except for the crust even though I offered to take her somewhere else after I was done with my pizza. Oops, I wish I had known. I also wish I had not asked for my pizza to go. The bottom slice got soggy because they stacked two slices on top of each other and wrapped them in foil instead of give me a box. The crust of the top piece was crispy, the cilantro on the pizza was tasty, but the pizza was super oily!

img_7105img_7110img_7112

Shopping on Valencia Street

My friend Kerri took me down Valencia Street before, so I wanted to return and take my mom shopping at these boutiques even though there’s not much for us to buy, only look. This street is home to Dandelion Chocolate, Four Barrel Coffee, local boutiques, and graffiti art.

img_7115img_7126img_7125img_7138img_7141img_7144

Four Barrel Coffee: 375 Valencia St, San Francisco, CA 94103
https://www.yelp.com/biz/four-barrel-coffee-san-francisco

I tried the single pour over bar with five coffees and one espresso to choose from. I chose Golji from Ethiopia which was a light tea-like coffee, and my mom chose Gura Peaberry from Kenya. Both cups were $4.00, only 75 cents more for a barista to explain the pour over process and coffee beans while making one cup at a time. The experience felt a lot like Ballard Coffee Works in Seattle where I tried the same coffee bean brewed with different methods at their brew bar.

img_7131IMG_7132.JPG

Lands End Trail to Mile Rock Beach and Lands End Labyrinth

More than a year ago, I visited Sutro Baths with two friends, but neither my mom nor I recall the trail to Lands End Labyrinth. Thankfully we both brought a pair of sneakers, which was necessary for this dusty and sandy trail. It was good exercise and well worth our time, but I’m not sure visiting friends and relatives would have the time to make the trek on Lands End Trail when they want to see all the rest of SF on a one day trip. Also, Blue Angels was practicing over SF for Fleet Week this coming weekend, so we got to see the awesome view and air show!

img_7147img_7161img_7164img_7170img_7184img_7189img_20161006_160344img_20161006_160957img_7198img_7201img_20161006_161626img_7218img_20161006_164247

Dinner at Pacific Cafe: 7000 Geary Blvd, San Francisco, CA 94121
https://www.yelp.com/biz/pacific-cafe-san-francisco

Leaving Lands End with shopping at Stanford on our minds, we decided to grab dinner in SF to avoid the rush hour traffic on the way back down to Palo Alto. I yelped this 4-star restaurant with 600+ reviews close to Lands End. By the time we drove over, it was 5:00 PM when the restaurant just opened, which was perfect since the restaurant doesn’t take reservations. Upon arrival, the hostess asked if I would like a complimentary glass of red/white wine, which was so generous! I think I’m allergic, but I tried a glass of the white wine to go with my seafood dinner. My mom ordered the combo of salmon and baked prawns, which she paired with clam chowder and rice pilaf as a side ($28). I had read on yelp that this place had the best crab cakes, so I ordered the sauté crab cake entree, which came with two crab cakes and I chose salmon bisque and roasted potatoes as a side ($30). We enjoyed our soups, both had real chunks of clams and salmon. I agreed that these were the best crab cakes I have had with a generous amount of crab. My mom liked her salmon a lot, we both liked her prawns which were baked with lots of garlic and came with 5 shrimps, and she liked her rice pilaf too. The meal was really good, service was great, and the restaurant had a nice cozy hospitable feel, such a nice find on yelp!

img_7226img_7235img_7237img_7240img_7241

Sunset at Sutro Baths

When we left dinner in SF and was about to head down to Palo Alto on the Great Highway along the Pacific coast, it was 6:40 PM – 5 minutes before sunset. Again, how PERFECT! Had we left the restaurant a few minutes later, we would have missed it. We parked at Sutro Baths, and I was able to take some shots of the sunset from Lands End Lookout.

img_7245img_20161006_184452img_7255img_7256

We finished the already tiring day with some quick shopping at Stanford before stores closed at 9:00 PM. At the moment while drafting this post, I have a pounding headache and dead sore legs. I just googled “hangover” and realized I have experienced all of these symptoms (fatigue, thirst, headache, nausea, and light sensitivity). Sad to say but for my best, I am super lightweight with alcohol and I think I have a hangover from drinking less than a glass of wine. At least this time I haven’t thrown up yet. Anyway, this is a weird note to end on, but I figured writing this down will dissuade me from taking advantage of free alcohol and feeling this again. It’s time to hit the sack and hope this pounding headache will be gone tomorrow so I can finish this post. Good night! Edit: Yay, my headache is gone! I had to wake up around 3am last night to pee from all the water I had after the wine. I think I’m done with wine… for a good while.

Heading back to the Mission District tonight for friends’ birthday celebration!

One thought on “Mission District and Lands End in SF

  1. Pingback: Around the Bay for My Mom’s Birthday | kamelican

Leave a Reply

