“He Will Hold Me Fast” by Keith & Kristyn Getty

img_20161119_175050

Just came home from babysitting for the Lu’s family with their four bright and well-behaved kids – Josiah, Timothy, Ruth, and Hannah – and the fifth child is on his way this December. This family is amazing, and tonight was such an encouragement to me and also the girls who served with me – Hoi, Charissa, and Bea! It was a pleasure spending time with the children and seeing their Bible-centered homeschooled life. Every room you walked into from the dining room to the children’s “classroom” complete with a word wall to the garden outside displayed different Bible verses.

We read a Thanksgiving book called Bear Says Thanks and then we made Thanksgiving turkeys to share what we are thankful for (stole this craft idea from my first grade class yesterday, haha the teacher in me!). I was blown away by the 6-year-old’s responses on his turkey’s feathers – reading Bible, loving one another, God, and a faithful servant. Wow!

IMG_20161119_171428.jpg

Over dinner, Josiah started reading his verse of the day from 1 Corinthians 13:4-6, Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth.” He went on to tell us an example of how he can practice patience. Later, Timothy shared that his favorite song is “He Will Hold Me Fast.” We sing this song at Pillar Baptist Church, and it’s endearing for a 3-year-old to call this Gospel-rich song his favorite. Gotta start ’em young!

Just thought I’d share this beautiful song with a live video and the lyrics!

 

When I fear my faith will fail
Christ will hold me fast
When the tempter would prevail
He will hold me fast
I could never keep my hold
Through life’s fearful path
For my love is often cold
He must hold me fast

CHORUS:
He will hold me fast
He will hold me fast
For my Savior loves me so
He will hold me fast

Those He saves are His delight
Christ will hold me fast
Precious in His holy sight
He will hold me fast
He’ll not let my soul be lost
His promises shall last
Bought by Him at such a cost
He will hold me fast

CHORUS

For my life He bled and died
Christ will hold me fast
Justice has been satisfied
He will hold me fast
Raised with Him to endless life
He will hold me fast
Till our faith is turned to sight
When he comes at last

CHORUS

One thought on ““He Will Hold Me Fast” by Keith & Kristyn Getty

  1. Pingback: “O Church Arise (Arise, Shine)” by Keith & Kristyn Getty | kamelican

Leave a Reply

