Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J.K. Rowling

30065028

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay by J.K. Rowling

Though intrigued about this movie when I first saw the trailer and heard friends say good reviews about the movie, I wanted to read J.K. Rowling’s original screenplay before watching the movie. Being a fan of the Harry Potter series, J.K. Rowling has an incredible talent for writing in a way that allows readers to picture the story for themselves and madly flip the pages. Even when I didn’t like reading in high school, I was reading her enormously thick books overnight. It’s rare for me to find an author whose books I actually want to read before watching the movies. At first, I was apprehensive about reading a screenplay (it reminded me of Shakespearean plays) with abbreviations like Ext. and Int. for Exterior and Interior and P.O.V. for Point of View, and I didn’t find out that there was a glossary of film terms at the back of the book until I was halfway done. But just like her other books, J.K. Rowling had me finishing this book in one sitting. With the book fresh in my mind, I watched the movie on the same day and enjoyed it thoroughly. It was so entertaining to see the characters, especially the core four, and magical creatures come alive!

“Jacob: Tell me — has anyone ever believed you when you told them not to worry?

Newt: My philosophy is that worrying means you suffer twice.”

Now I can’t wait to pick up J.K. Rowling’s other new book, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, from the library and see that as a play or movie too.

3 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J.K. Rowling

  1. Pingback: Winter Break 2016 | kamelican

    • It’s an easy and enjoyable read, although now you will have the movie’s actors in your head as you relive the movie by reading the screenplay. For me, it was fun to imagine it first and then to see the magic of seeing the setting, characters, and plot come alive as a movie! I think the movie was well done according to the screenplay.

      Like

Leave a Reply

