37 Years and the Example of My Parents

Today would have been my parents’ 37th anniversary – six years and 2 months after my dad passed away from cancer and seven years after they celebrated their 30th and last anniversary together. Since moving home from grad school, I have always remembered this day for my mom, imagining how special this day would have been if my dad was still here to celebrate it and how special it still is to remember the 30 years of marriage they shared. (See previous post, 32 Years.) Following our yearly tradition, we visited my dad’s memorial site, and then I took my mom out to a nice dinner. We tried Los Altos Grill (my prime rib made up for my chicken soup from being sick on Christmas), and then we walked around Downtown Los Altos and got Tin Pot ice cream!

I can distinctly thank my parents for a few important things that have made me who I am today.

1. Saving Faith – My parents were saved around the same time and baptized on the same day before my brother was born. They modeled devotion and faithfulness to the Lord, love for the church, diligence for the Word, and dependence in prayer. My dad got his Master of Divinity in seminary, and my mom finished 7 years of Bible Study Fellowship. They took my brother and me to church every Sunday and fellowship every Friday, had family worship in the home, and prioritized God in our family. It is by God’s grace that my brother and I are walking with God too.

2. Hospitality – My parents have always had our home clean and ready for friends to come over any time. We hosted many gatherings with family friends when my brother and I grew up and still do to this day. My dad’s last wish was for my mom to follow through with his home renovation plans to build a family room that would increase fellowship opportunities. It’s always a pleasure for my family to have people over! It makes the home cozier and merrier.

3. Traveling and Enjoying Life – Growing up, I went on month-long vacations with my self-employed dad, stay-at-home mom, and my brother all over the world – Disneyland (1992), Hong Kong (1993, 1995, 1999, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2009), Hawaii, Florida, Disney World, Texas (1996), Canada (1997, 2000, 2007), Las Vegas (1997, 1998, 2004, 2006), Europe (1998), China (1999, 2009), New York (2000, 2009), Alaska cruise (2000), New Zealand, Great Barrier Reef cruise, Australia (2001), Japan (2002), Scandinavian cruise (2003), Korea (2009), and I have to look back at my photo albums to see what I forgot. I am blessed to have traveled so much and learned the joy of traveling and seeing the world from my parents.

4. Leadership and Service – My parents modeled leadership in the home and service at church. My dad was a deacon, accountant, and Sunday School teacher for the youth group, and my mom was a children’s Sunday School teacher. She currently serves on the welcoming team, care team, and ministry board at her church and leads and hosts a ladies small group for the fifth year and going. Serving at church was and is a priority to my parents and has encouraged me to serve in nursery, small group, women’s ministry, and deaconship.

♥ Love you Mom and miss you so much Dad ♥

Leave a Reply

