Hiking and Exploring Oakland on MLK Day

It was so nice to enjoy a productive MLK Day off, hiking and eating in Oakland and Berkeley while having good conversations with old and new friends – Grace, Michelle, Praise, Christine, Rebecca, Charissa, Amelia, Patty, and Jon! I hardly make the drive up to the East Bay which is an hour away (but my friends are so nice to visit me in the South Bay all the time), so I make it a big deal and turn it into a whole day trip. I am thankful for my East Bay friends in Oakland, Emeryville, Pleasanton, Alameda, Castro Valley, and Fremont who spend time with me and take me around to explore new places and eats that I have not been to even though I was born and raised in the Bay Area. Still have yet to ride the BART. (Edit: Oops!!! I thought I’ve never been on the BART my whole life, just search “BART” on my blog and you will find all the times I mention that I have not, but apparently I did once while taking a day trip to Berkeley and forgot!) 😳

{ Hike } Redwood Regional Park11500 Skyline Blvd, Oakland, CA 94619
www.yelp.com/biz/redwood-regional-park-oakland

First workout of the year! What was supposed to be a 2-hour hike with redwood trees and a view of the bay became a long and tiring 3-hour hike that left us beat and hungry. We trekked through muddy trails, made a few u-turns, enjoyed fresh air in the redwood trees, got lost long before some of us admitted it haha, walked along a paved road with cars whizzing by our sides, and finally made it back to our cars at 2:30 PM for a super late lunch. Through our adventure of being lost, we enjoyed God’s creation and the company of each other, which is what hiking is all about!

photo courtesy of Praise

photo courtesy of Grace

wp-image-1989531027jpg.jpg

{ Lunch } Seoul Gomtang: 3801 Telegraph Ave, Oakland, CA 94609
www.yelp.com/biz/seoul-gomtang-oakland

ordered – beef soup with brisket, seafood pancakewp-image-1736658197jpg.jpg

{ Dessert } Curbside Creamery: 482 49th Street, Oakland, CA 94609
www.yelp.com/biz/curbside-creamery-oakland

ordered – single scoop sugar cone with Bicycle Co. Coffee and Thai Iced Tea ($4.50)

{ Hangout } Relaxed, enjoyed a cup of hot tea, showered, and chatted with Charissa and her housemates Catherine and Michelle at their cozy apartment in Oakland

{ Dinner } Angeline’s Louisiana Kitchen: 2261 Shattuck Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704
www.yelp.com/biz/angelines-louisiana-kitchen-berkeley

ordered –  Jambalaya, Crawfish Etouffee, Fried Catfish

Thank you for a fun-filled day in Oakland! I’ll be back, my East Bay friends, I promise! 😉

One thought on “Hiking and Exploring Oakland on MLK Day

  1. Pingback: Doing Grown Up Things | kamelican

Leave a Reply

