Cooking More, Eating More

Mom’s back home, and I’m still cooking! WAHOO!!! The continuation of doing grown up things. She’s probably shocked at my transformation after only one week of her being away, but at the same time enjoying her new free time. You’re welcome, Mom. 😜 We’ll see if I keep this up.

I have been so spoiled to have dinner ready on the table and hot lunch leftovers for the next day on top of so many other things my mom does for me so that I can relax and finish up more work at home. It’s a bit embarrassing when my coworkers compliment my lunch looking good, and for me to respond, “Yeah…my mom made it,” every single time. And for them to tell when my mom isn’t in town because I’m eating sandwiches or the same pasta that I bulk cooked for days.

This is definitely not the first time my mom has left me home alone; she is usually gone for a month at a time at least once a year since I’ve moved home. The last time she was gone in November, I bought a box of 16 corn dogs for $5 😳 and processed lunch meat for sandwiches and a bunch of chip bags. Lazy and unhealthy, but time-saving. Something has gotten into me this time. Maybe I have picked up the joy of experimenting in the kitchen, and I like to control what I get to eat and how soon I get to eat after I come home from work, which is ideally 6 PM.

I picked up groceries from Trader Joe’s after work on Monday and came out in a record time of 30 minutes? I don’t like grocery shopping because I know it takes me at least an hour no matter how few or many items I need to buy since I walk down every aisle. At Trader Joe’s where I frequent since I am used to grocery shopping there in college, I pick up my usual items: romaine lettuce, green beans, mushrooms, carrots, celery, chicken thighs, ground beef, and bananas.

Here are my meals from this week!

Rice with green beans and chicken and tofuwp-image-1559165003jpg.jpg

Rice with eggplant and ground beef

Penne pasta with baked handmade meatballs with ground beef, onions, garlic, and egg, and carrots, celery, mushrooms, and canned tomato and basil sauce. First time making meatballs!

Romaine lettuce salad with chicken nuggets, mushrooms, carrots, cranberries, walnuts, and Japanese miso dressing

Today, I was out of the classroom for a district meeting and enjoyed an hour long lunch!

Learnings from my cooking:

1) When my mom cooks, I complain about too much food on my plate. But now that I’m waiting to eat the food in front of me for 30 to 90 minutes of prepping and cooking time and putting hard effort into making the food myself, I am hungryyy when I eat. Most often times I’ve had to snack on fruit or crackers while I’m cooking.

2) I need my own space in the kitchen and a lot of concentration to cook; aside from having music in the background, I don’t like having my mom around when I’m cooking.

3) I use a lot of dishes for the raw and cooked food while cooking. So far, I have been cooking and washing dishes, even though my mom offered to do the latter when I cook. But washing my own dishes will motivate me to maybe use less dishes to cook.

4) I haven’t followed any recipes except for looking up the ingredients for meatballs, or else I would have made balls out of ground beef alone. I’m having fun making things up!

2 thoughts on “Cooking More, Eating More

  1. Pingback: Shepherd’s Pie | kamelican

  2. Pingback: An Eventful Two Weeks | kamelican

Leave a Reply

