The Return of the King and Judge

Then I saw heaven opened, and behold, a white horse! The one sitting on it is called Faithful and True, and in righteousness he judges and makes war. His eyes are like a flame of fire, and on his head are many diadems, and he has a name written that no one knows but himself. He is clothed in a robe dipped in blood, and the name by which he is called is The Word of God. And the armies of heaven, arrayed in fine linen, white and pure, were following him on white horses. From his mouth comes a sharp sword with which to strike down the nations, and he will rule them with a rod of iron. He will tread the winepress of the fury of the wrath of God the Almighty. On his robe and on his thigh he has a name written, King of kings and Lord of lords. –Revelation 19:11-16

Another Sunday of feeling so blessed and uplifted by the sermon and worship at Pillar where our souls are so well-fed, thanks to Pastor Danny’s diligent study of Revelation and Min-Jae’s thoughtful consideration of the set of songs to go with the sermon. Today, Pastor Danny preached on the return of the King from Revelation 19:11-16. In His Word, God made a promise of the glorious second coming of Jesus Christ that is to come, which will be the final capstone of His death, burial, and resurrection. As a Christian, I have so much to be thankful for. Thankful that Jesus Christ is my Savior and Redeemer. Thankful that Jesus Christ is trustworthy and faithful to fulfill His promises (vs. 11). Thankful that God searches my heart and that nothing is hidden from His view and knowledge, yet He loves me (vs. 12). Thankful to have eternity in heaven to look forward to growing in knowledge of a transcendent, everlasting, inexhaustible God (vs. 12).

But “He is clothed in a robe dipped in blood” (vs. 13) that is not the blood of His own and “He will tread the winepress of the fury of the wrath of God” (vs. 15) struck me and I fought back tears thinking about the striking, bloody imagery of my Savior also being the Executioner for non-Christians – my relatives, my friends, my coworkers, and this dark world. The hope that I cling to with faith in Jesus Christ through grace alone comes with judgment for those who have not put their trust in the Savior. After hearing these verses, how can a non-Christian go unfazed and be hardened to the call to salvation today? How can a Christian not feel more urgency for lost souls? So as Pastor Danny exhorted, may I fight self, pride, sin, and the distractions of this temporary world and desire most to see Jesus Christ in this mortal life. And as I wait for the glorious second coming, may I preach Christ, so that His Name is exalted and those around me may come to the saving faith of having Jesus as their Lord and Savior too.

The song that we sang in response to the sermon, “It Is Well with My Soul,” is always on my mind when I long for heaven and remember that life is short. For more of my reflections on heaven, read my previous post, Heaven is a Better Place.

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
when sorrows like sea billows roll;
whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say,
It is well, it is well with my soul.

Refrain:
It is well with my soul,
it is well, it is well with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
let this blest assurance control,
that Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
and hath shed his own blood for my soul.
(Refrain)

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!
(Refrain)

And, Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
the clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
the trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
even so, it is well with my soul.
(Refrain)

Leave a Reply

