Spring Break in Socal 2017

Back to my blog! March was a really busy and stressful month at work that had me lose my voice for 3 weeks, which made it exhausting to teach and hard to recover until I had the week off to stop talking for 6 hours straight. Spring Break definitely came at the right time. It wasn’t until Facebook popped up old photos of reunions with my grad school friends from the past few years that I realized it was my fifth year in a row spending Spring Break in Socal! I visited my brother and sister-in-law in their newly refurnished home in San Diego with my mom for the first time after they got married last October and my college friends in Irvine. Though it was a busy and productive week, it was restful being away from work and I always have a good time with family and friends! I am also thankful to have had Passion Week off to spend more time reading and mentally preparing for Good Friday and Easter. Hope you had a happy Easter!

Since my last post, Bea gave me two free weeks of yoga, which I milked by going 10 out of the 14 days of unlimited yoga. For being my first time taking yoga classes, I really enjoyed the hour of being unplugged from my phone, destressing from work, not thinking about anything, detoxing my body with stretching and sweating, and getting endorphins! With 3 months left to train for my first half marathon, this hour of working out almost every day kick started my new thing of being active into Spring Break, which is what I looked forward to on this trip (other than catching up with family and friends!) even more than Socal eats. Here are the photos from Spring Break!

Saturday, 4/8: Breakfast at Cream Pan (almond croissant, strawberry croissant)Screenshot_20170418-220019 (1).png

Hung out with my brother’s in-laws in LA. Peruvian lunch at El Rocoto (seafood soup, chicken with pesto spaghetti, lomo saltado).

Katie’s parents’ houseIMG-20170408-WA0012.jpg

Korean Bell of Friendship

Cabrillo Marine Aquarium

Takeout dinner from Savoy Kitchen (hainan chicken rice) and Noodle King (braised pork rice, dan dan mien, beef noodle soup) at Katie’s sister’s houseIMG_20170408_184630.jpg

Sunday, 4/9: Ran 5 miles at Lake Miramar with Katie

Church and Spiritual Formation Class

Lunch at Point Loma Seafoods (crab sandwich, clam chowder)IMG_20170409_140609_348.jpg

Nap. Katie and Law cooked pizza pasta. Watched Moana.IMG_20170409_195446.jpg

Monday, 4/10: Brunch at Great Maple (house smoked beef brisket english popover)

Visited Mission Basilica San Diego de Alcalá, California’s first mission

Hiked and laid on the beach at Torrey Pines State Reserve with Gloria

Joined Law’s small group

Tuesday, 4/11: Read at Starbucks. Shopping at Carlsbad Outlets and UTC mall.

Taco Tuesday dinner at El Patron ($1.09 cabeza, lengua, fish, adobada pork tacos)IMG_20170411_182455_838.jpg

Rock climbing at Mesa Rim with Law, Katie, Chiyo, Ricky, and Adam

Wednesday, 4/12: Law made breakfast for the familyIMG_20170412_083458_834.jpg

Watched Rogue One. Nap.

Family dinner at Ironside Fish & Oyster ($1 Ironside Select oysters, chowder fries, clam chowder, steamed mussels, sea bass, and green beans)

Mom flew home

Hung out with Liz at Bing Haus (black sesame and earl grey lavender rolled ice cream)

Thursday, 4/13: Made jello eggs. Nap.

Ran 5 miles on trails and hills at Los Peñasquitos Canyon Preserve

Dinner at Urban Plates (albacore with brussells sprouts and mashed potatoes). Law & Katie dropped me off in Irvine. Slept over at Cheryl and Mike’s house for 2 nights.

Friday, 4/14: Peet’s. Hung out with Tammy and Tyler and helped Tammy to decorate Tyler’s room.

Dinner at Din Tai Fung with Cheryl and Mike (cucumber salad, xiao long baos, shrimp and pork dumplings, noodles with chicken soup, dan dan mien)

Berean’s Good Friday Service with Crosslife at the new church building!

Saturday, 4/15Breakfast at W Cafe with Michelle and Dephinie (chia pudding)

Lunch at Le Dip with Henry and Pablo, throwback to college (chicken broccoli mushroom sandwich with garlic sauce). Visit the hipster Union Market at The District.

Can’t believe the end of the school year is near, only 37 days left until summer!

2 thoughts on “Spring Break in Socal 2017

  1. Pingback: Pizza Pasta From My Sister-in-law | kamelican

  2. Pingback: Easter Dinner | kamelican

Leave a Reply

